Fish & Chip Shops in London

I was chatting with a friend the other day about fish & chip in London and we realised that neither of us know of any great traditional fish & chip shops. Then this lovely photo from new contributor Gary Denness popped up in the Flickr pool.

PC236580

So I thought I’d pose the question… Do you know of any worthy fish & chip shops in London? If so, where? Please share in the comments!! And enjoy the rest of your weekend.

Cheers for all the views and shares lately. Much appreciated!

10 comments on “Fish & Chip Shops in London

  1. A great fish and chips in London..is near Waterloo …along by the old Vic theatre, towards the elephant! Amazing cod and chips and amazing portion sizes, not to mention value for money!!do check it out!!

  2. Reblogged this on Arrancat's Blog and commented:
    As a British Ex PAt currently living in Georgia, fish and chips and chip shops are one of the things I miss the most about Britain. Sure, you can buy chips and fries here, but they just aren’t the same. I’m counting down the days until my next fish and chip shop visit…the golden battered fish, greasy fingers, and loads of malt vinegar…ummmm…I can hear them luring me already!

    Not sure that I know of a great fish and chip shop in London though, other places yes, but for some reason I have no idea of good chippies in London. Looking forward to finding our though. Great Blog by the way.

  3. Since I haven’t been to London since 1973 my answer is obviously no but I recall stopping after the pubs closed in Islington. As a Yank I was enthralled with the butcher paper they were wrapped in. Do they still use that wrapping? I also remember stopping for Savaloys. Not sure how that’s spelled. Anyone know what they are? Some kind of sausage like a big vienna sausage

  4. Poppies Fish & Chips in the East End is sensational!

    Also, did you know it is National Chip Week this week? Or is this article a freakishly timed coincidence!?

Leave a Reply

