Spring in Hyde Park

The elusive Spring may finally be on its way. I spotted some flowers along the edge of Hyde Park this weekend, while walking from home to Notting Hill. I took some photos in case they decide to disappear again so that you believe me.

IMG_6094_2

I also finally took a photo of these chimneys that I walk past on my way to work every morning that look like mini castle turrets. About 10 homes on this section of the Foulis Terrace have the same. 

IMG_6086_2

And a very touristy shot of the red phone boxes in front of the Natural History Museum where I haven’t been in ages despite walking past it almost every single day.

IMG_6089_2

When you enter Hyde Park from this side, there are sculptures of deer at the entrance way.

IMG_6092_2

And back to the flowers!

IMG_6097

IMG_6095_2

IMG_6099_2

Of course, among all of the joy that these little things bring, they don’t change everything. There’s such a mixture of beauty and sadness in life, and in a big city, it’s all jumbled so close together.

IMG_6098_2

Nearby, there’s a sculpture of a dog, ready to pounce. There’s a big sense of energy in this small piece of art.

IMG_6101_2

Next to the dog, a section of the park was blocked off with a sign: “Snob’s Crossing”. Hm.

IMG_6102

Since I was headed to Portobello Market (more photos later), I decided to walk up Kensington Palace Gardens, the quite, tree-lined street full of embassies. At the edge of the park just before the bit where you can no longer take photos, there were these royal looking Victorian style gas-lit street lamps.

IMG_6103

If you have five minutes, read about Kensington Palace Gardens. It has some interesting history and the average property price on the street is about £22 million. For example, the Indian steel tycoon Lakshmi Mittal owns three properties on the street together worth about £500 million. According to Wikipedia, “He bought  18-19 Kensington Palace Gardens—which was purchased from Formula One boss Bernie Ecclestone in 2004 for £57 million (US$128 million)—made it the world’s most expensive house at the time, The house is decorated with marble taken from the same quarry that supplied the Taj Mahal. The extravagant show of wealth has been referred to as the “Taj Mittal”. It has 12 bedrooms, an indoor pool, Turkish baths and parking for 20 cars.” Some indoor photos.

21 comments on “Spring in Hyde Park

    • Hahaha :) I can’t believe I wrote goats. I was reading a joke someone sent me about goats just before I wrote this post (I know… excuses, excuses) so must have been in my mind. At least I didn’t write whales or something completely crazy. Goats and deer are relatively close, right?

  1. I thought that was deer also!
    The pic of the small round flowers was marvellous!
    I once attempted to take a photo of a lamppost in that road.
    The constable slowly crossed the road, keeping his pistol inside his jacket, and enquired what I was doing photographing the Soviet Embassy.
    When I explained he looked somewhat quizzically at the lamppost, restrained his thoughts, and suggested I moved elsewhere. He was very polite, friendly, and informative. But at that time the Soviets were not.
    I wonder where that pic is now?

    • Thanks! You have a nice week as well. I hope you get some flowers in Berlin soon. They are late to arrive in London this year. Usually I am taking photos in February. Actually thinking about a long weekend in Berlin later this year. When is a good time to go, weather-wise?

      • Huh – knotty question- because Berlin weather isn’t reliable at all ;-)
        Often it can be really nice in the end of May or it can be very beautiful in September..
        I hope for a hot summer this year’s, so you can have a splendid time at the various lakes in and around Berlin, so if you like to swim, row or sail it can be marvellous…

    • Thanks about the photos. You’re lucky to have been enjoying nice weather for that long already. It’s been so cold here!

      On a side note, I didn’t realize you were in Istanbul. I run another blog for work (http://capaworld.capa.org), for an international education company and they opened a new site in Istanbul this year so I’m always looking for content and photos to post. Also, I’m putting together a list of places where American students can go for a feeling of home (ie – places to watch American sports, eat American food, etc). If you have any ideas, I’d love to hear them!

  2. Pingback: December in Duke of York Square Market | Little London Observationist

Leave a Reply

