Listen to a Londoner: Dave Sadd

Listen to a Londoner. This is a weekly post where people who live (or have lived for a while) in London answer a few questions about the Big Smoke. If you fit the bill and want to be interviewed, give me a shout at Always looking for new victims volunteers….

David Sadd psDave Sadd, 23

Dave is currently a student in his 2nd year at Cardiff University, studying Journalism, Film and Media.
He enjoys films, music, new media and fine wine.

LLO: How long have you lived in London?
Well, I don’t live in London anymore unfortunately. When I left home to come to university, my mum moved into Hertfordshire. But until then, I’d been living in London for 20 years. Long time!

LLO: Best thing about London?
Feeling like you’re part of something massive.

LLO: Best shop?
DS: I’m a bit of a media fanatic, so HMV on Oxford Street does it for me.

LLO: Best place to catch a gig?
Before it closed, I was a big, big, big fan of The Mean Fiddler. These days…Brixton Academy.

LLO: Best local band?
Am I allowed to say The Kinks?

LLO: Best place to escape the city?
DS: I always lived on the outskirts, so it was never a big thing to escape – I spent a lot of time in Herts.

LLO: 2012 Olympics – stay or go?
I honestly couldn’t care less about the 2012 Olympics. I’m apathetic all the way.

LLO: How do you spend your time on the tube?
I listen to music and worry about getting lost, so spend a lot of time looking at the maps and counting how many stops there are until I need to get off. This makes it sound like I really don’t enjoy the tube, but I do!

LLO: Favourite book, song or film about London?
My favourite film about London would have to be Dirty Pretty Things. It’s a wonderful look at how London is for immigrants.

LLO: Most interesting recent news story?
DS: This is actually my favourite news story of the past week in general – Boris helping a girl from thugs. Whilst on a bicycle. He used the word ‘oiks’! Who woulda thunk that a politician would be a decent human being too?! I loved it.

Thanks Dave!

For more Listen to a Londoner posts, click here.

Leave a Reply

