Listen to a Londoner: Jodie Mandat

Listen to a Londoner. This is a weekly post where people who live (or have lived for a while) in London answer a few questions about the Big Smoke. If you fit the bill and want to be interviewed, give me a shout at Always looking for new victims volunteers….

Jodie MandatJodie Mandat, 25

“Im an Australian living the life in London for a year so I can travel europe and see the world. I came here for eight weeks on a holiday last year with my best friend and loved it so much, I went home, sold my house and all my furniture, left all my friends, my boyfriend and my really great job. I’ve made some really good friends here so I’ll be sad to leave in only six more months. The travel bug has bitten me HARD! I didn’t think I’d love it here as much as I am, so when I do go home I’ll have to decide where I want to live forever. On a more personal note, I’m a shopaholic and a chatterbox! :p”

LLO: How long have you lived in London?
6 months

LLO: Where are you or your family from originally if not London?
Melbourne, Australia

LLO: Best thing about London?
Always something to do.

LLO: Worst thing about London?
I’m starting to think it’s not so much the cold, but the dampness of everything.

LLO: North, south, east or west? 
I live in the northwest, but I love it all

LLO: Best restaurant?
Little Bay when I’m feeling adventurous and Pizza Express when I’m feeling casual

LLO: Best shop?
I’m going to have to say Topshop!

LLO: Best place to escape the city?
Richmond is lovely and so is Greenwich, but closer to town, Hampstead Heath.

LLO: How do you spend your time on the tube?
Usually eyeballing the newspaper of the person next me until I can get my mits on my own copy, but if I’m standing, I’m usually concertrating on NOT breathing where somone else is!

LLO: Most random thing you’ve seen in London?
People dressed like it’s Halloween when it isn’t!

LLO: Best place to catch a gig?
Somerset House.

LLO: Best local band?
(not sure if theyre local but dicovered them here) Just Jack

LLO: Favourite book, song or film about London?
Not sure they’re about london, but they’re certainly based in or make reference to London; Book – Confessions of a Shopaholic, Song – “Ldn” by Lily Allen, Film – Closer or Green Street Hooligans

LLO: Favourite London discovery?
Brick Lane 

LLO: Best place to spend a Sunday afternoon? 
Almost any pub or the kitchen with the other flatmates!

LLO: Best museum or gallery?
I’m yet to find one in london that I really love😦

LLO: Favourite market?

LLO: Best London magazine, newspaper or website?
Company magazine, The London Paper before they scrapped it and 

LLO: If you were to dress up as one of the tube station names for a costume party, which would you be?
Cockfosters (hehe) or maybe Elephant and Castle.

LLO: Best time of year in London?

LLO: First place to take a visitor?
On a red bus, top deck to Oxford Street (but only if they like to shop). Otherwise, Big Ben.

LLO: Favourite place to be on a Saturday night?
A bar in Islington or Angel

LLO: Best and worst things about tourists?
Best – good moods. Worst – slow walking and getting in my way to take photos.

LLO: What would you change about the city if you had the power to do so?
The rubbish and spit on the sidewalk. Eeewwwww! And, I’d make people apologise for bumping into other people.

LLO: Most interesting recent news story?
All the British soldiers that die in the Middle East. It’s so sad. We haven’t sent that many troops from Australia, so we don’t hear as many stories about them being killed. The most interesting, however, was the one a while ago on TV called; Katie, My Beautiful Face.

Thanks Jodie!

For more Listen to a Londoner posts, click here.

One comment on “Listen to a Londoner: Jodie Mandat

Leave a Reply

