Postman’s Park

Films based in London always capture my interest, especially when they are set in locations I haven’t seen yet. That’s how I discovered the small Postman’s Park near St. Paul’s station. The park contains Watt’s Memorial, the place where the characters played by Jude Law and Natalie Portman begin to fall in love in the movie Closer. The memorial commemorates selfless acts of fatal heroism with a series of plaques detailing the situation in which the death occurred. One of these people is Alice Ayres – immortalised both in the park in as the name of Portman’s character.

When I saw the park in the film, I thought it looked serene and a bit secret – set in the middle of the city. A few days after seeing the film, I found it and was right. Here’s a few photos I took while I was there:

One comment on “Postman’s Park

  1. See, now that is why I love this city. You think you’ve seen it all and then absolute gems of history pop up where you least expect them.

    Nice photos! I love how you got the colours so vibrant!

Leave a Reply

