West Ham Game

My dad is a West Ham fan. He was around when West Ham’s Bobby Moore led England to win the 1966 Wold Cup. These things get passed on through families, which people teasingly love to say is unfortunate for me. I have a West Ham scarf in my bedroom back in New York and my brother and I were able to see a few games when we came over to England as kids. They sing the song above in support of the Hammers. It goes like this:

I’m forever blowing bubbles,
Pretty bubbles in the air,
They fly so high,
Nearly reach the sky,
Then like my dreams,
They fade and die.
Fortune’s always hiding,
I’ve looked everywhere,
I’m forever blowing bubbles,
Pretty bubbles in the air.

So we went to a game while he was over last week – West Ham v Coventry. My main experience with professional sport in the States is going to see our beloved Buffalo Sabres ice hockey games. The comparison is interesting. First of all, you would never catch a stadium of hockey fans singing a song together. Chanting, definitely, but not singing. The Americans have all the bells and whistles, the flashy light shows, the pre-game and interval entertainment, the organ player, the singing of the anthems, the massive fancy arenas, the giant jumbotron where everything that is said is sponsored by so and so and the prize giveaways. The Brits have more heart though. They are die-hard supporters of their teams in a different way than Americans are. They don’t need all the excess to go out and have a brilliant time at a game. It’s all about the football.

I thought I’d share a few photos I took the other day. It was an exciting, sold-out game with plenty of (mainly missed) opportunity but West Ham won 1-0.

Are you guys football fans? Who do you support? Any good stories? 

Clip from the movie about West Ham – Green Street Hooligans:

One comment on “West Ham Game

Leave a Reply

