F. Cooke: Pie & Mash

Over the weekend, I read about The Gentle Author’s journey through some of East London’s traditional Pie & Mash shops in my copy of Spitalfields Life. (You can read about it on the blog as well – part 1 and part 2.)

And so I was pleased to see the recent contributions to the Flickr Pool by Philipp Ammon – some lovely black and white images from his recent visit to F. Cooke in Broadway Market. Enjoy!

IMG_2447

IMG_2426

IMG_2371

IMG_2414

IMG_2442

Love the little black kitty!

Thanks Phillip!

Have you ever been to F. Cooke? Yummy?

3 comments on “F. Cooke: Pie & Mash

  1. In the 1950s we had pie and mash every Saturday lunch time. My brother had 2 pies, 2 mash and liquer, my sister had 1 pie, 2 mash and liquer and I had 1 pie and one mash, no liquer. I was the youngest aged about 7. We went to the shop in Crisp Street, Poplar. I can’t quite remember the cost but I think the pies cost about 10d or a shilling and the mash was sixpence. Mum and Dad stayed at home and did not have lunch.

Leave a Reply

