Little London Observationist in 2013

Dost thou love life? 
Then do not squander time, 
for that is the stuff life is made of.
Benjamin Franklin

I created Little London Observationist in 2009 to remind myself to appreciate the little things about life in London, to encourage myself to step off the pathways carved out by tourists and explore the gritty urban sprawl of this great city and get to know some real Londoners. It was also created to be a platform to share my own photography and writing. During the majority of the last three years, I posted seven days per week. Admittedly, not with the same passion throughout. So it’s time to change a few things and re-invigorate LLO.

I also want to say thanks to all of you who have started following along in 2012 and of course to all of you who have been following for years. To that end I hope to offer more giveaways this year to share my appreciation. So far, in the next few weeks, 10 of you will have the chance to receive a Photo Larks postcard and two of you will get to trial some cool fitness packages for a month. I’m also speaking to another company I did a giveaway with in the past that went over well. Secrets.

So, I have to say that lately I’ve been dipping into other ventures like running my Etsy shops – Photo Larks and Made in Mogotes, writing articles for Townfish and Move Guides and creating a new website for my dad’s side business, Sadler Garden Collections (launching at the end of January). I’ll also be working on a website for my brother who is running his own business, Sadler Fence and Staining, full time from the Spring. I have a number of other freelance projects in mind for 2013 so it’s going to be a busy one to sat the least. I’d also like to spend some time focussing on improving my Spanish (New Years resolutions and such), travelling, cooking more often, enjoying the little things in life with Jorge and spending more time with friends.

Time for Tea

This is great news but also means that because I’ve been so busy, being committed to posting on LLO every single day can simply feel like a chore. That goes against the original vision for the blog and it also takes away from the quality of the posts. As you can see from my own Flickr stream, most of my recent photographs are from my travels, not so many from London. That should also change this year.

I asked all of you to answer a survey in the last post of 2012 and your answers gave me some insight on what you’d like to see here (you can still answer the 3-minute survey if you haven’t yet. I appreciate your input).

The majority of you who answered the survey mentioned that you’d like to see the following on LLO in 2013:

  • More of my own photography (which is great because that’s something I want to focus on more this year anyway.)
  • More interviews with Londoners (also good news as these are always fun for me as well and I already have a few lined up for you.)
  • More neighborhood highlights (I will do my best!)
  • More personal reflections on life in London (I will definitely try to write more along with the photos, but keep it just as colourful!)

With that in mind, in 2013, the name of the game will be quality over quantity.

This means not posting every single day, but coming up with more original ideas, taking my camera out and about around the city and making the time to interview more of you Londoners (please email me if you’d like to volunteer – stephanie.sadler.23 @

I will of course, still draw from the Flickr pool so please continue to contribute! I’ll also put some more effort into posting additional content on Facebook. Also in the next few months, a new LLO logo and a possible transfer to in the Spring.

Hope you are all having a fabulous 2013 so far!

More soon (and with more photos!)

10 comments on “Little London Observationist in 2013

  1. I think part of the thing about blogging is finding a rhythm of posting that suits you. There’s a lot of pressure to blog every day (or even a few times a week), as that’s how your blog will inevitably grow. But I always think it’s better to do little and often – speak when you’ve got something to say – as opposed to forcing yourself to post when there’s nothing on your mind. Some of my favourite blogs only post a couple of times a month, sometimes less – but it doesn’t stop me reading them.

  2. I read your blog simply because of the positivity you radiate towards your readers, whether or not the photos featured are from you or from other photographers. I look forward to what you have to say and how you look at things. Thank you for always sharing your thoughts. As a writer, I understand what you mean by writing seemingly turning out to be a chore. I think it’s normal when you’re not so inspired or you’ve had a bad day. You’re just being human and as an avid fan, I understand that. Welcome back and cheers to 2013!

  3. Just stumbled across your blog via Town Fish – I love it! I’ve just started my own London blog and am already addicted to blogging .. the fact that you posted 7 days a week is a major inspiration! Looking forward to trawling through your archives now…

    Ashma X

Leave a Reply

