An Early Autumn Walk

This month is going by in such a whirlwind, I realised I haven’t even shared the photos throughout this entry that I took about two weeks ago.

P1040876

The weather has changed significantly since the last days of September.

P1050219

This was a bright and sunny weekend afternoon.

P1050285_2

Without too much time to venture far, I walked through the back streets of Chelsea, over to Knightsbridge.

P1050222

I found myself in Hyde Park.

P1050203

It’s always a nostalgic area for me to visit.

P1050205_2

When I studied abroad here in London about 10 years ago, I lived in a tiny flat with two other girls about one minute walk from Knightsbridge station.

P1050216_2

How lucky, I know. It was really a dream world for me those four months.

P1050209_2

We created many memories there, sitting out on our window ledge, feet dangling five stories above the ground watching the world go by below us; waiting for paparazzi to appear outside The Wellington Club across the street welcoming all sorts of celebrities; showing up on the doorstep of Normandie Suites, full of mud from playing football in the rain in Hyde Park.

P1050213

The Polish cleaners always talked to each other in the hallways and we were in awe of the fact that we heard this language every day, that people living in our building were from all over the world.

P1050214_2

The original building where we lived in Knightsbridge has been demolished and the new Bulgari Hotel popped up in its place. It’s not quite the same as it used to be, but the surrounding area hasn’t changed too much.

P1050225

Walking down the alleyway that follows the front of The Wellington Club, I think of the many times I passed through that same pathway when I was 20 years old and alone in London for the first time, the city still very much a mystery.

P1050228

That was my London then, that little bubble, that pathway from Knightsbridge to the playground in Hyde Park next to the Serpentine.

P1050236_2

We’d go late at night to lie in the grass while the weather was still warm and look for the pinpricks of stars in the polluted sky that was usually thick with clouds.

P1050240_2

There’s a willow tree there, just at the edge of The Serpentine.

P1050244

There’s many really, but there’s one in particular that I remember and it’s still there 10 years later.

P1050243_2

There was an afternoon that it was raining and we were in the park.

P1050247_2

Instead of walking back to the flat across the street, we stood under the willow tree with our hoods up listening to the rain fall through the branches around us, the occasional drop slipping through and landing on our faces.

P1050251

I walk along The Serpentine now and I can clearly see the days we took bits of bread to feed the swans, but the ducks always got to it first.

P1050252_2

Now, someone else was feeding the ducks and stray leaves from the nearby trees floated at the edge of the water.

P1050253_2

Autumn has always been my favourite season. It reminds me of the excitement of first days of school, the new backpack, the first-day-of-school outfit, the cool notebooks.

P1050255_2

Mostly though, of the sense of new beginnings. I always feel refreshed when Autumn comes, more motivated and full of renewed energy.

P1050256_2

It’s never quite the same in London as it is where I come from in Upstate New York where the trees blaze like wildfire in bright red, oranges, yellows and purples before their leaves fall into massive piles along the kerbs that can be kicked through when you walk.

P1050259_2

I love the crunch of leaves, the crispiness.

P1050262_2

London has this, but on a much less intense scale. I found a few hints of Autumn on my walk a few weeks ago.

Screen Shot 2013-10-15 at 22.33.24

There were orange berries, fallen leaves lining side streets and chestnut shells on the pavement.

P1050291_2

I wandered through the park a bit, back down to the Serpentine Gallery.

P1050266_2

The bookshop there is small but full of good stuff.

P1050268_2

I picked up a hardcover coffee table book called Creative London Living for Jorge who enjoys finding inspiration in interiors.

P1050269_2

Outside the bookshop, I stopped to look at this year’s pavilion.

P1050270_2

It was designed by Japanese artist Sou Fujimoto and I believe it’s only up through this weekend so now’s the chance if you want to see it.

P1050271_2

It’s a huge white lattice of steel poles that looks a bit like a geometric cloud.

P1050273_2

You can go inside and climb up to seating areas at different levels.

P1050274_2

Parts of it seem to be more dense than others and it appears to change shape as you circle around it.

I walked home then, back down Exhibition Road, past the Natural History Museum and the shops and restaurants surrounding South Kensington station.

P1050277

The next day I left for Dublin which I’m writing about gradually on Little Observationist.

P1050278_2

Today is Jorge’s birthday (happy birthday!!) and we leave for Copenhagen early tomorrow morning for a long weekend of good food, bike-riding and probably quite a bit of time under our umbrellas by the sounds of it.

P1050279_2

So I’ll be back next week and will hopefully have a bit of time to post before I leave for Boston the following weekend.

P1050280_2

Then it’s up to New York to see my family and my exhibition the following week in mid-November.

P1050281_2

After that, things should calm down a bit and I’ll be able to post more often!

P1050282_2

Hope you all have a great weekend.

P1050284_2

Leave me a comment and let me know if you’re up to anything exciting while I’m away!

8 comments on “An Early Autumn Walk

  1. Autumn in Western New York is indeed ablaze right now. Thanks for this window on London in the Fall. I love the shot of the willow tree. Enjoy your travels, Steph, and Happy Birthday to Jorge!

  2. This is such a lovely post that I very much enjoyed reading. I’m nearing the end of my time here in London, and this post reminded me of all the wonderful things I have loved about living here. And congratulations on your exhibit — best of luck!

Leave a Reply

