Rugged London: Part 3

Fred255 is becoming a regular contributor to the Flickr pool lately which is great news because I love to share his work. It’s London with a twist, which is always refreshing. So, following on form first Rugged London entry and the second Rugged London entry, here is the third display of Fred’s photography. Text beneath the photos is from Fred.

Trafalgar Tavern

Built on the site of the Old George Inn in the year of Victoria’s ascension in 1837

The Trafalgar Tavern situated on Park Row in Greenwich London really is a little Gem, not just a Public House a place full of history.

It is one of London’s most essential public houses, Charles Dickens and William Gladstone could be seen dining together here, it stands in the Greenwich Maritime World Heritage Site.

The building is late Regency with stunning bay windows and elegant balconies and columns.

Victoria Dock

Victoria Dock

Sunset Under Chelsea Bridge
Sunset under Chelsea Bridge

Luxury Apartments on the Thames

This luxury apartment block was on the River Thames about a 1/4 mile away for where I was standing.
I used a Canon EOS-1D Mark III with EF200mm f/2.8L USM +2.0x. It’s a very subtle HDR.

Looking West Towards Tower Bridge

Looking west toward Tower Bridge, trying out an 85mm prime lens.

London Roof

I did a 14 mile stroll though the old docks. This is the roof of a converted warehouse.

I was lucky, invited up on to a roof garden on an apartment block on the side of the River Thames in Rotherhithe. The really nice lady that invited me up, left me with a grumpy old man who really was not happy with me being up there. I was not up there for as long as I would have liked but I did manage to get this shot.

One comment on “Rugged London: Part 3

Leave a comment