Brrrr in Borough Market and Beyond: A Photo Walk

There are a few reasons why I love a good lazy Saturday afternoon browsing the stalls in Borough Market.

IMG_5267

The smells, for one, are reason enough to return time and again – melted cheese bubbling and browning on fresh bread, Summer scents of sweet red strawberries and perfect plump tomatoes, perfectly brewed coffee smells wafting out the door of Monmouth wrapping through the inevitable queue lined up around the corner.

IMG_5259_2

The reason I ventured east a few weeks ago with Carolina and Leslie was mostly for their fabulous company but also for the food: roasted duck piled into fresh ciabatta rolls. Yum!

IMG_5258

Can’t believe I haven’t had a chance to put these photos up yet! I’ve been busy building websites for my dad’s business, Sadler Garden Collections and now my brother’s Sadler Fence and Staining. My dad’s site is finally live if you want to stop by and see what I’ve been up to: Sadler Garden Collections.

IMG_5250

The other site will probably take me the rest of the month to finish, but after that, the blog should be more alive! Anyway, throughout this entry are some of  my photos from that Saturday, finally.

IMG_5255

Come along, I’ll take you on a little walk…

IMG_5263_2

Curvy little narrow cobbled streets surround Borough Market and I love to explore them (not great in heels if you’re wondering).

IMG_5245_2

You know the phrase “In the clink”? It came from the famous Clink Prison on Clink Street. It was burned down in the riots of 1780, and of course a tourist attraction in the form of a museum you can tour sits in it its place.

IMG_5248_2

None the less, like much of London, it’s an area steeped in rich history. It’s also the location of some pretty popular films and TV shows: Oliver Twist, Doctor Who, Bridget Jones’s Diary and An American Werewolf in London all contain scenes filmed on Clink Street.

IMG_5235_2

Just around the corner, in another nod to history is a replica of the Golden Hind, which circumnavigated the globe in the late 1500s, captained by Sir Francis Drake – one of those names that takes you back to childhood history classes.

IMG_5236

It’s always surrounded by tourists (and people like me) pointing their cameras.

IMG_5237_2

But it’s easy to see why. It’s colourful, first of all, but it also has lots of lovely little details.

IMG_5239

On the other side of the market is the Southwark Cathedral, a beautiful building that is a little slice of history in its own right.

IMG_5229

According to their website, “Southwark Cathedral is the oldest cathedral church building in London, and archaeological evidence shows there was Roman pagan worship here well before that.”

IMG_5232_2

Near the side of the cathedral, just outside the market, there are a bunch of seats so we settled in there to eat our duck rolls, brushing the flour from the tops of the rolls off of our faces and coats every few minutes. Delicious!

IMG_5233_2

With frozen fingers and toes, we wandered through the winding side streets in search of some tea and came across this little door (which is smaller than it looks) and an old Banksy piece next to it.

IMG_5266

On the nearby Vinopolis Piazza is a fun, Crayola-coloured canopy of umbrellas.

IMG_5273_2

I’m not entirely sure why they are there (feel free to enlighten me), but I think they’re pretty fabulous.

IMG_5283_2

One more close up…

IMG_5285_2

After an afternoon of constant girly chatter, giggles and tea, we parted ways and I decided to walk back to Chelsea for some fresh air. Took a few hours!

IMG_5294

There was a lot to look at along the way. Architecture, mailboxes…

IMG_5290

…some left over graffiti from the Olympics.

IMG_5292

I wandered down The Cut, past the painted Lord Nelson pub.

IMG_5308

Upper Marsh Street (where my favourite Scooter Caffe lives) and through the Leake Street graffiti tunnel.

IMG_5318_2

There were tons of artists working away and of course the intoxicating scent of spray paint.

IMG_5335_2

They’ve even painted the bins.

IMG_5344_2

From there, I found myself dodging tourists on South Bank, but I stopped for a shot of good old big ben with one of the fish on the lampposts that line the river Thames.

IMG_5350_2

From there, on over the Westminster Bridge where one of the lights on the corner had burned out. As a friend pointed out on Flickr, in that location you would think they’d have fixed it!

IMG_5355_2

After that windy walk, I put the camera away and stuffed my freezing fingers into my pockets. You can see from this last photo what I mean. Brrrrrrrrr!

IMG_5364

The end. Hope you all have a fantastic week ahead!

14 comments on “Brrrr in Borough Market and Beyond: A Photo Walk

  1. Really pretty photos! The umbrellas would surely brighten up any rainy day haha. By the way I’d like to invite your dad to post a free listing here: http://www.yalwa.co.uk/Garden-Design/60919/

    And if you’re not too busy and if you’d send me your email address, I can send you a questionnaire for the Yalwa Company of the Week and we’ll feature your dad’s business on our blog.

  2. I love this post! I spend so much time walking around Borough Market, Southbank and Westminster yet it was like I was seeing the area for the first time through your eyes. Just beautiful!

  3. Pingback: Borough Market and Beyond: A Photo Walk | London | Scoop.it

  4. Pingback: Copenhagen's Torvehallerne Market - Go Hungry! | Little ObservationistLittle Observationist

  5. Hi there, any chance I can use your photo of the Lord Nelson pub for a small article about things to do in Southwark? If so, who shall I cite it to? Thanks! 🙂

  6. Pingback: London like a local! Bloggers give their tips on some of the best things to see and do in the city | Inspiring City

Leave a comment