Easter: Sunday Roast in a Cosy Pub

As an expat, holidays are always completely different than I remember spending them as a kid with our family traditions. Easter is no exception, so we make our own traditions. There are no giant bunnies, hidden baskets or hunks of roasted ham eaten around a dining table with family. Being in London, what better way to pass Easter than a Sunday roast in a cosy pub?


Seems to be two years in a row now we have taken the pub roast route. Last year, we went to the Garden Gate pub in Hampstead followed by some crazy egg rolling on Parliament Hill. This year, we braved the stubborn cold only long enough to walk around the corner to The Builders Arms on Britten Street. No egg rolling involved.


The food was pretty tasty with a giant Yorkshire pudding settled on top. I later smothered the whole plate with gravy. Not the best Sunday roast we’ve ever had, but definitely tasty. We followed it with a shared gooey hot chocolate brownie with a scoop of dulce de leche ice cream on top which we gobbled up before I remembered to take a picture. Sorry! You’ll just have to go get your own if you want to see what it looks like.


It is a pub with quite a lot to look at, from different fabrics on all the sofas and chairs, to bowler hat and antler light fixtures to random quotes on chalkboards and candles with dripping wax.




There are maps and pillows, builder’s tools and surreal artwork hanging on the walls.



And if you’re feeling up for some friendly competition, there’s a stack of board games to keep you busy. They even have a pile of blanks which is useful for this weather!


Do men tip more than women?? Hmmm.


Screen Shot 2013-03-31 at 16.40.17

The end.


10 comments on “Easter: Sunday Roast in a Cosy Pub

    • It is fun to re-create holidays in your own way. My boyfriend is Spanish and I’m American so we enjoy combining some of the traditions we remember from home with our own twist. I think it’s been about 6 years since I was last in New York for Easter!!

  1. So cool to get a bit of both cultures in there! I also find it forces you to become a bit of a better cook – my friends here in London have the Thanksgiving turkey down pat (though when it comes to Easter, I have to say my Greek family tradition of roasting a lamb on the lawn in Canada probably won’t be happening in my flat this year :p)

    • Wow, roasting a lamb on the lawn sounds like an awesome idea! When I first moved to London about 5 years ago, I lived in Kensal Green and we had a really big garden. We actually dug a fire pit out and put bricks around the hole and everything. Had some great BBQs and parties there. You just reminded me. Good times. But yes, it’s actually really nice to combine cultures. And I love hearing about other friend’s traditions too. I remember one “orphan” Christmas in London when all of us who didn’t have family here just got together and ended up talking about the traditions in our home countries.

    • I honestly don’t know!! I love going to Garden Gate pub in Hampstead but it’s a bit of a pain to get there. There’s a great roast at a pub somewhere in East London that we can’t remember the name of which is sad, but I don’t think I’ve managed to discover the best one yet. Let me know if you find a good one!

Leave a Reply

